Cyprus Wine Competition


7th Cyprus Wine Competition – JURY


Dr Rowald Hepp – Oenologist from Germany.

He is the Director and Head Winemaker of Schloss Vollrads – one of the oldest vineyards in the world, based in the Rhine Valley in Germany. Dr Hepp was a juror in major international wine competitions including Germany, Switzerland, USA, Austria, Japan. He was also a juror in the 6th Cyprus Wine Competition. In 2001, he received the “Gault Millau’’ award for ‘’Estate Director of the Year’’.



Tom Cannavan – Wine writer from Scotland.

His articles are found in ‘’Decanter’’, and the ‘’World of Fine wine’’. He has written or contributed to 10 books. Tom was a pioneer of wine on the internet when he launched in 1995. Today, the site is one of the world’s most respected wine websites. He chairs at the Georgian National Wine Competition. He has been a Panel Chair at the International Wine Challenge and a juror at the Decanter World Wine Awards. He was a juror in international wine competitions includingAustralia,Chile,Argentina, S. Africa,Italy,France,Germany and theUK.




Jean Luc Berger – Oenologist fromFrance.

He had been the Chairman of the OIV during 2003-2006 and the Vice President of the OIV Wine Commission during 2006-2009. He works as an independent expert since 2010, a National Convenor of CST (Scientific and Technical Committee) and as a consultant to the French Institute of Vine and Wine. He is a member of TSA (Technical Subtraction of Autoenrichissement) at the OIV, a technology expert and a secretary of the jury prizes.





David Seijas – Oenologist, Sommelier fromSpain.

With work experience as a sommelier in both London andSpain, in 2006 he won the prize “Golden Nose”. His work also includes the writing and presentation of the “Wine Tasting – step by step’’. David also worked for various food magazines.






Maria Tzitzi – Chemist Oenologist from Greece.

She has her own laboratory in Greece and works also as a Lecturer teaching Oenology, Wine Tasting and Chef de Cuisine. Maria was a juror in major international wine competitions inFrance,Italy,Spain,Hungary,Israel,Chile,Switzerland andGreece.






Tamas Oroszlan – Sommelier from Hungary.

He worked with the director of Sommelier Association of Bretagne in France the period 2006-2007 and has been the manager of Haraszthy Vallejo Winery from 2007 until 2011. He is currently working as a commercial director of Tokaj Hetszolo Winery.







Denis Rudenko – Russian wine journalist.

He is the founder and editor of the Russian wine  magazine ‘’750 ml’’ and the director of one of the biggest wine clubs in Moscow, ‘’The bunch’’. He was a juror in the ‘’6th International Wine Competition Tempranillos the World’’ and in the ‘’6th Cyprus Wine    Competition’’.






Vasos Manoli – Cypriot Sommelier.

Vasos held the position of the best Cypriot Sommelier in 2009. He was a member of the tasting committee of the 5th and 6th Cyprus Wine Competitions. As general manager and head sommelier at ‘’Risto La Piazza’’ restaurant in Paphos-Cyprus, Vasos Manoli spends a lot of time behind the bar. ‘‘Mai Aphrodite’’ is one of the many inspired creations in his cocktail list that obtained the World best cocktail award of March 2011, by the “Wine Enthusiast magazine’’.





Miroslav Kalinic – Serbian Sommelier.

He is a member of Cyprus Sommelier Association and the Honored President of Serbian Sommelier Association. He lives in Cyprus and works at “Le Meridien Limassol Spa & Resort” as Maitre d’ Hotel and Chef Sommelier. He is the winner of the National Ruinart in 2005, as the best sommelier inCyprus.